Perseverance in Hope: The 2020 Virtual Benefit Luncheon

A New Way to Celebrate and Support Happens October 28

Perseverance in Hope, the Joseph’s Home Benefit Luncheon, is an annual event that celebrates the remarkable healing and achievements of the medically fragile men experiencing homelessness who have stabilized their health and transformed their lives at Joseph’s Home. Due to concerns related to COVID-19, the event will be virtual this year. It will be broadcast live on October 28, 2020. The goal of the event is to raise awareness of this vital ministry and critical funds needed to support the complex needs of the men Joseph’s Home serves.

Event emcee,
Dan Moulthrop

Last year, with the help of many supporters, the event raised more than $52,000 to benefit Joseph’s Home! Please join us as we aim to raise $60,000 in 2020. Every dollar raised will help end the cycle of streets, hospitalization and shelter for medically fragile adults without housing. This is done by treating their acute conditions, connecting them to appropriate ongoing health care and working with housing partners to obtain a stable, permanent home with ongoing supports to maintain medical and housing stability.

Keynote speaker,
Amanda Misiko Andere. Read Amanda’s full bio here.

Joining us again as the emcee will be Dan Moulthrop, CEO of the City Club of Cleveland. Thanks to the incredible generosity of the Sisters of Charity Foundation of Cleveland, we are thrilled to present Amanda Misiko Andere, CEO of Funders Together to End Homelessness, as the keynote speaker. Amanda has been very active in the community for more than 15 years working through multiple nonprofit outlets and the public sector as a leader. She has committed her career to racial and housing justice through advocacy work for systemic change. Funders Together to End Homelessness is the only national network of grantmakers working to end and prevent homelessness, with the belief that they can end homelessness and philanthropy plays a critical role.

In addition, Mary Jo and Jeanne Lackamp, M.D., will be recognized with the David Henderson Memorial Award, and Bill Denihan with the newest award — the Dream Team Partner Award.

David Henderson Memorial Award

David Henderson was a former resident and board member of Joseph’s Home. As a board member, David was passionate about support for our mission, shared his story often, and was driven to spread awareness of Joseph’s Home any way he could. David had such a passion for the work of Joseph’s Home and he wanted the program to grow and serve many individuals in need because he knew firsthand how Joseph’s Home helped him.

Long-time Joseph’s Home friend and 2019 David Henderson Memorial Awardee Burt Saltzman accepts his award during the 2019 Perseverance in Hope Luncheon from former executive director Christine Horne and operations manager Alphonso.

David sadly passed away in November 2017. In 2018, the Joseph’s Home Board of Directors designated the David Henderson Memorial Award to be awarded to a supporter, advocate or volunteer of Joseph’s Home that embodies the spirit of David Henderson and our mission. This year’s David Henderson Memorial Award will be presented to Mary Jo and Jeanne Lackamp, M.D. Tune in on October 28 to learn more about this dynamic and supportive mother-daughter duo.

Dream Team Partner Award

Throughout their 165-year history, the Sisters of Charity of St. Augustine (CSA) have devoted their lives to meeting community needs and adapting their ministries to remain responsive as needs change. To do this, the sisters collaborate with a host of partners who help make their service possible. Joseph’s Home mirrors this tradition, relying on strategic partnerships to provide the best care for men experiencing homelessness. Together with other service providers, government entities, universities, health care systems, housing providers and others, we ensure that individuals experiencing homelessness have the best chance of achieving long-term health and housing stability.
The name of this award is derived from a group of eight talented and determined CSA sisters—the “Dream Team”—who helped develop numerous projects responding to evolving community needs, including Joseph’s Home. Their commitment to researching the most effective models, finding excellent partners and persevering even when the obstacles seemed too steep exemplifies the character of the individual or organization we seek to honor with this award.

The purpose of the Dream Team Partner Award is to recognize valuable partners who have made deep and meaningful contributions to the mission of Joseph’s Home, in the same spirit of service as the partnerships the Sisters of Charity of St. Augustine have developed over the years. This year’s Dream Team Partner Award will be presented to former ADAHMS Board Chief Bill Denihan. To hear about Bill’s longstanding partnership with Joseph’s Home, register for the virtual event at

Reflections from the Dream Team

“It was a time of wonderment and excitement! It was a time to explore what was in our hearts and where God’s most Holy Spirit was calling us. The sky was the limit. As ideas were being shouted out by our CSA Sisters and written down on a board, I suddenly opened my mouth and discussed the problem I had with the people experiencing homelessness I served when it came time for them to leave the hospital. I believe this was one of the first building blocks to make us realize this was a need that CSA Sisters wished to address.” — Sr. Ruth Ann Patrick, CSA

“The effect of the news that medically fragile men experiencing homelessness had nowhere to recover on me was almost electrical. A Holy Spirit shock, if you will. To think that in this great country of ours this kind of situation could happen. The conviction that something should be done about this, and that we could help make it happen propelled our group into action.” —Sr. Evelyn Flowers, CSA

Members of the CSA Dream Team
Sister Theresa Bontempo, CSA*
Sister Marian Durkin, CSA
Sister Evelyn Flowers, CSA
Sister Joan Gallagher, CSA
Sister Coletta McNamee, CSA*
Sister Ruth Ann Patrick, CSA
Sister Marietta Rohr, CSA*
Sister Elizabeth Schur, CSA*
Sister Catherine Walsh, CSA